Advice Please: Brand Building

whoville

Sep 29, 2015
Visit site
Hello, I am new to the coffee roasting business. My company is Steampunk Johnny's Coffee Co. I roast Colombian and Guatemalan beans to sell retail. Right now I am building my brand on a shoe string budget. I have a roaster and I grind, package, and label by myself. Any advice on brand building is very welcomed. My goal is to open a small coffee house with a steampunk theme. I'm looking forward to hearing everyone's thoughts!

Website www.steampunkjohnnyscom

Last edited:

John P

Jan 5, 2007
Salt Lake City
Visit site
The graphic looks good, lettering not so much. It's too busy as a scalable item.

As ensoluna said, you have no info at all on your coffees.

Also, how much coffee for the $ ? $11.95/$12.95 is a rather low price point whether for 12 oz, and especially at 1 pound, which makes me wonder about the specific coffee you are selling.
And "Love in a Mug" ? Doesn't fit the theme at all, I cannot imagine Captain Nemo uttering, "Give me some Love in a mug, please!" Also you are selling the coffee in bags (I assume) not mugs, it unnecessary and/or poor copy.

Mr.Peaberry

Aug 7, 2013
Visit site
Regarding the logo, I agree with John. Graphic fits the Steampunk theme, but the font is from a Buffalo Bill Cody Playbill. This is confusing. If you are on a shoestring budget...you need a laser focus on branding. I also agree that "Love in a Mug", albeit a catchy phrase, is also inconsistent with your chosen theme. Waaay too cutesy for the jackhammer crowd!! For some inspiration, visit Ravensbrew.com ... I think they have done a wonderful job of branding, especially with the names chosen for their coffee's and consistency of message.

whoville

Sep 29, 2015
Visit site