Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Are pregnant women really not allowed to drink coffee? WHY??

Hi!

I been drinking coffee since grade 2 and coffee is almost my water. I drink it from the moment I wake-up, after every meal and whenever I feel like having a break from my work. Now, I',m kinna worried because we'll getting married next year and we are planning to have a kid by next year as well --- Whem I get pregnant, does it mean I won't be able to drink cofffee for more than 9 months? WHY???

And if I can't drink coffee, what will I drink as alternative. I can't drink milk alone and I'm not really a fan of tea. My best bet is hot chocolate though it is too sweet from me. Suggestions anyone???

Any doctors here who can help me out
    coffeetology girl

I'm not a doctor, but I play one on TV. JK. The short answer is yes, but of course in moderation. I am assuming that I would have to cut back the 6+ I have daily if/when we become pregnant.

Here is a link to a website that discusses what is safe and what isn't: http://www.babycenter.com/400_is-it-saf ... 62_1001.bc

There are also some health benefits to coffee. When I was a child, my doctor told my Mom to give me a strong, hot, black cup of coffee and to help alleviate my asthma symptoms until she could get me to the emergency room. It helped with my wheezing. So, I guess you could say I drink coffee for medicinal purposes. Even today, if I am away from my inhaler, a hot cup will at least calm me down until I can get to it.
    AJPratt
    Pratt's Hill of Beans

"Don't laugh at the coffee. Someday you may be old and weak, too."

Quote Originally Posted by AJPRATT
    I am assuming that I would have to cut back the 6+ I have daily if/when we become pregnant.
    ?

I used to be schizophrenic but we're better now! :P
    Have you ever walked through the aisle of your local grocer and smelled the death of a dying bean?

Very funny. Its "the thing" now to say "we're pregnant". Although there's no "we" about it.
    AJPratt