Are pregnant women really not allowed to drink coffee? WHY??

coffeetology girl

Jun 12, 2006
Manila
Visit site
Hi!

I been drinking coffee since grade 2 and coffee is almost my water. I drink it from the moment I wake-up, after every meal and whenever I feel like having a break from my work. Now, I',m kinna worried because we'll getting married next year and we are planning to have a kid by next year as well --- Whem I get pregnant, does it mean I won't be able to drink cofffee for more than 9 months? WHY???

And if I can't drink coffee, what will I drink as alternative. I can't drink milk alone and I'm not really a fan of tea. My best bet is hot chocolate though it is too sweet from me. Suggestions anyone???

Any doctors here who can help me out

AJPRATT

Mar 7, 2007
Atlantic City, NJ
Visit site
I'm not a doctor, but I play one on TV. JK. The short answer is yes, but of course in moderation. I am assuming that I would have to cut back the 6+ I have daily if/when we become pregnant.

Here is a link to a website that discusses what is safe and what isn't: http://www.babycenter.com/400_is-it-saf ... 62_1001.bc

There are also some health benefits to coffee. When I was a child, my doctor told my Mom to give me a strong, hot, black cup of coffee and to help alleviate my asthma symptoms until she could get me to the emergency room. It helped with my wheezing. So, I guess you could say I drink coffee for medicinal purposes. Even today, if I am away from my inhaler, a hot cup will at least calm me down until I can get to it.

CoffeeMakers

Jun 24, 2008
Visit site
You really dont need to worry too much. I am a coffee addict myself. But when I was pregnant my body hormones totally put me off coffee...I find it hard to beleive it myself, but I did not want to have any coffee and you dont even have to worry what to drink instead, your body automatically lets you know what in needs in its place.