I can't find coffee beans I like. Help!

Katrina_O

Oct 19, 2012
Colorado
Visit site
Hi – I’ll start my post with a disclaimer. I’m not a coffee aficionado and I’ll likely say something dumb somewhere in my question. Also, I'm sorry if this is the wrong area. Now that that’s out of the way…

Here’s a bit of backstory for you. I grew up drinking terrible coffee because I didn’t know any better. I’m talking the cheapest grind possible brewed in an ancient drip machine. A new pot of coffee would be brewed once or twice a week and we’d just drink cold leftovers when it wasn’t fresh.

Once I moved to my own place, I started brewing coffee in my new drip machine -- fresh, at least -- until I found a French Press on Amazon. I’d never heard of one before, but knew I had to have one. With it I started grinding my own coffee. My grinder is a blade-grinder, not a bur-grinder, and I know that’s not ideal. But it seemed so much better than what I was used to.

Here’s my problem: All of the coffee I buy tastes terrible, French press or not. My eyes were opened to this a few days ago when I tried Starbucks VIA Brew. Until then, I had no complaints. Now, I’m sure many of you hate the stuff, but that Starbucks instant coffee tastes 100x better than what I’ve been making in my French press. The coffee I was drinking is from Amazon, titled: French Roast, Whole Bean Coffee, 5-Pound Bag (I'd link it, but I'm a newbie and don't have permission.)

It smells musty and tastes it, too. After trying the Starbucks VIA, I couldn’t stomach another cup of the stuff. Literally. I poured it down the drain after a sip. Its taste reminded me of cigarettes after the heaven that was Starbucks VIA. Given that I’m not a smoker, that’s very unappetizing. So, I bought this coffee and shipped it overnight: Kicking Horse Coffee 454 Horse Power Dark, Whole Bean Coffee, 12.3-Ounce Tins (Pack of 2) (Once again, sorry for the lack of link.)