good coffee vs bad coffee

twinings

Nov 15, 2013
Visit site
I am not a coffee expert. I just like to drink it.

What is the primary differentiator between good coffee and bad coffee? Let's say I am referring to standard filtered coffee made with boiling water, if that makes a difference.

I guess it has to be the beans, or the roast, or both.

Does expensive coffee have the best beans? Does that mean that standard coffees are just left-over beans that the gourmet coffee brands didn't want?

Or, are the beans quite similar, and the preparation is more important.

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Hello "twinings"

Welcome to the Coffee Forums website.

Are you focusing your questions on the use of ground coffee or whole bean?

There are a lot of factors that go into making "good" coffee. Keep in mind that "good" is a matter of personal preference. What is "good" for one person may not be for another. The beans, the roast, the grind, and the method of preparation all play a part in creating "good" coffee.

As you read through some of the threads on this Coffee Forum, you will see that most of us prefer fresh roasted, whole bean coffee that is ground right before using it. ALso, the type of method used to prepare the coffee makes a difference in the end result. Lots of people buy the best of coffees and then ruin the coffee by brewing it wrong.

What do you consider as "standard coffee"? Are you referring to the canned ground coffee that you get in supermarkets?
There are a lot of factors that determine the price of coffee (region grown, importing issues, supply and demand, etc.) The most expensive coffee isn't necessarily the best.

Rose

RolandPluut

Nov 16, 2013
Visit site
Hi Thread,