Beans at Whole Foods Market

janry

Dec 16, 2013
Nashville, TN
Visit site
I've only been in our local Whole Foods Market once before but I noticed today they are roasting in-house. The guy working the roaster said all their beans have been roasted in the last 5 days. I picked up about a half pound of Sumatra beans he had just roasted and I plan to try in the morning.

What I like about this is the freshness and I can buy as small a quantity as I want. I can get 3 or 4 different beans in small quantities to try over the week and have a nice variety.

What I don't know is how good is this? Obviously, the taste will tell but am I expecting too much from a store that has "some guy" roasting. I have no idea how experienced he is or how good the equipment is. Is roasting more an art or science? Does anyone know how good the quality is in Whole Food Markets in general?

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
"janry"

Whole Foods has a good reputation for quality.

Since the guy is roasting the beans there, it's worth giving it a try to see how you like his roasting ability. They probably only have one or two people trained to roast coffee. They also probably only roast small batches, so the coffee doesn't sit around too long.

Have you ever used Sumatra beans before? If so, then you can compare what you bought with what you've already experienced. Try the coffee that you bought and see if you like it. Then try another coffee and see if you like that. You're eventually going to decide one way or another if you want to keep buying your coffee from Whole Foods.

Rose

namballe

Aug 24, 2012
Lima, Peru
Visit site
i agree with PR. Whole Foods has a reputation for good quality. i'm sure that the "some guy" roasting has had adequate training in the roasting biz. i think it's a great idea of in store roasting. probably going to make good money at it.

topher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 14, 2003
Boca Raton
Visit site