New Coffee Shop - Suggestions for type of Coffee -

SanFranciscoNative

Feb 15, 2005
Visit site
I am opening a coffee shop in the San Francisco Bay Area later this year. My only competition in this particular area is Starbucks. This will be a trendy hip little place...a bit funky and a bit european in style. My question is this: I am not a coffee expert at all at this point. I have been told to check Illy, but if anybody out there has any suggestions regarding a good brand of coffee or any related advice let me know..thanks in advance...Cheers

LiftOff

Nov 3, 2004
Arizona
Visit site
Hi,
Very exciting time!

My suggestions:

1) Espresso...the cornerstone of any quality cafe'
A) should be able to produce an outstanding straight shot and also
have the "legs" to cut thru lattes, capp's, mocha's etc.

2) House...either a blend or a nice single origin
A) a versatile coffee for drip/brew coffee
B) tasteful, full bodied, mild acidity, chocolate/sweetness
C) in brief, a coffee that is great ANY time of the day or night

3) Decaf...versions of the above
A) don't underestimate the amount of biz a good decaf will generate

After this it's all up to you to decide how many different choices you want to present to your customers. This should be in part dictated by;
need, space and lots and lots of other facors. You came to the right place, lots of industry types here to help!

Good luck!

Sinister703

May 31, 2004
Windsor,Ontario
Visit site
Illy is very expensive, check with local roasters that stress thier quality and freshness, I agree with everything liftoff said too!
Your coffee MUST be better than Starbucks.
YOur service MUST be better than Starbuckss (knowledge & friendliness).

Bellissimo has educational videos on espresso training, I think Andrew from Cafemakers (a consulting firm) is nearby also. He has alot of gooo info and it would be wise to consult someone like that.
Good Luck!