Colombian Beans

MatthewS

Sep 30, 2015
Visit site
Hey guys,

New to the forum and new to export. I have just moved over to Colombia and through some handshakes I'm now meeting with Colombian co-op owners.

What should I be looking for/out for? I have some experience on the end of the chain so I know what to look for in quality after roasting but the green beans and roasting process is new to me.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Matt

ensoluna

Banned
Apr 29, 2014
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Visit site
Hey guys,

New to the forum and new to export. I have just moved over to Colombia and through some handshakes I'm now meeting with Colombian co-op owners.

What should I be looking for/out for? I have some experience on the end of the chain so I know what to look for in quality after roasting but the green beans and roasting process is new to me.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Matt

you are a brave man, Matt. it takes a lot of guts to move to Colombia to start coffee business.
I am an exporter of green coffee from Guatemala, and I have been doing it for a while.
anyway, I have posted some articles about "right direction", so if you have time, check on my postings about how to export coffee.
if have any questions, let me know.
thanks
alex

sjmyst

Oct 26, 2015
Allen, Texas
Visit site
Hi,
I'm also a newbie to this site.

But, I just wrote an article about Colombian coffee beans. So, your story brings up a lot of questions for me about your decision to move to Colombia. From my research you have chosen one of the top locations (if not the top) in the world to look for great coffee beans to export. So, congratulations on that.

I'm curious are you working with co-ops in one of the three top coffee bean growing departments in Colombia? From my understanding Caldas, Quindío, or Risaralda are the top places to be.

I'm also curious how you chose Colombia for the place to look for great coffee bean exports.