Illy:espresso good.... beans bad?

austexb

Nov 19, 2003
Visit site
Hi... new member here. Always trying to improve my brew. I've really enjoyed Illy's ground espresso, but I have yet to get their med roast beans to make good espresso or coffee via drip or French press.

Anyone else have this problem or have a solution? Bad beans? They often look kinda dry in comparison with the oily sheen of other local (Austin) offerings.

TIA... Brian

CoffeeLover

Mar 7, 2003
Coffee Shop
Visit site
illys coffee

I sent a message to illys and invited them to come to this forum and help answer your issues. hopefully they come by would show good customer relations :D They answered the e-mail back to me in a nice manner they just need to find someone to come on here. Hope they do soon! :)

forstro

Dec 8, 2003
Visit site
illy caffe

My name is Roy Forster and I am a Quality Assurance Manager with illy caffe. The subject of oil not being on the beans is a common inquiry and many people are surprised to learn that oil on the outside of the beans is not a good thing. If the oil is on the outside, it will not be in the cup. The oil actually gets there by either over roasting the coffee or through the aging process of the coffee where the oils are expelled from the cells. In illy's case you do not see oil because we pay very special attention to both the roasting temperatures and pressures during the roasting process and then after cooling we use our patented system of pressurization with nitrogen which keeps the oils locked into the beans until the the can is opened. The illy you drink in the ground form is from the same beans so you should be enjoying the same great results provided your grinder is in good shape and you are grinding it to the correct grinding dergree. Please recognize that the grinders we use to grind our beans are of the highest quality and often the ground coffee is better than that of a home user grinding our beans.