A cup of black coffee with foam. Dutch style?

lupuslupus

Dec 14, 2010
Visit site
Hi, I am new to this forum, and a total noob when it comes to coffee theory. But I do love a good cup of black coffee! Can someone please explain the following to me (I will be talking about black coffee throughout the post):
In Norway we mostly drink filter coffee, although espresso is availiable in coffee shops. When I visisted Holland, I noticed that when I ordered a cup of coffee, the coffee I got was stronger and richer, and it had foam on top of it, like espresso. I really liked this coffee much more than the filter coffee I am used to. And I also like it better than espresso, since the quantity is larger and it is not that strong, so I can enjoy sipping it for fifteen minutes. What is this kind of coffee drink called? How is it made?

topher

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 14, 2003
Boca Raton
Visit site
I would assume they are using a french press or "cafetiere" The coffee comes out more rich...The coffee does have a bit of oiliness and is very bold. It might not just be the preparation but the coffee that shop was using...
thumbnail.aspx

lupuslupus

Dec 14, 2010
Visit site
Caffè Americano (Was:Re:A cup of black coffee with foam. Dut

Thanks for your replies. I was wondering, could it have been a Caffè Americano? I see from this page http://www.flickr.com/photos/29934265@N00/296643435 a Caffè Americano with a nice layer of foam (crema). Is this kind of coffee popular in Holland/Mid-Europe? Would a modern commercial coffee machine be able to make Caffè Americano directly (i.e. without having to manually add the extra water)? And how does a Caffè Americano taste compared to drip coffee?

shadow745

Aug 15, 2005
Central North Carolina
Visit site