Help for a newby Barista.

Markd24

Mar 30, 2011
Visit site
Hey all, I have a trial as a barista very soon and I am trying to study up so that I won't mess it up. I have some small experience with a barista machine but have forgotten some of the differences between drinks. One in particular is the difference between a Cappuccino and a Latte? I know the espresso shot is the same but what is different about the steaming of the milk. For Cappuccinos, I normally steam the milk so that it is quite foamy. For latte's though, am I supposed to poor it differently or something? Would much appreciate any advice. Also, what are the main coffee drinks that I should know? I'm thinking the most popular would be Americano, Espresso, Latte, Cappuccino, and Mocha. Any others I should ad in there?

Many thanks!!

alphawave7

Mar 23, 2011
Visit site
Here's Scott Rao's froth vid:

Don't worry too much about drinks..allow the cafe owner to guide you on his/her 'conventions'. A Lot like a bartender, the bar owner may want you to measure, or short the booze! :p

Markd24

Mar 30, 2011
Visit site
Thanks guys, some very useful resouces here. Yeah youtube is great as there is lots of video tutorials. I'm still confused though over the differenc between making a Latte and a Cappucino? I know a Latte is mostly steamed milk with a little microfoam on top, where as Cappucino is steamed milk and more microfoam? So do you just make the milk more foamy for a Cappucino, and for a Latte, do you use a spoon when you are pooring to hold back the small bit of foam intil the end?

Mar 31, 2011
Seattle, Wa
Visit site
Hey,