Please go easy on me (super auto question)

rsoares28

Apr 21, 2014
Visit site
I have a Saeco xelsis with finger scanner. Anybody here with a similar machine can provide some advice on optimal settings to get a respectable espresso? i'm finding my shots too watered down.

I'm also using Lavazza beans in the Gold bag if that helps.

I'm new to this game and looking for some advice, thanks

John P

Jan 5, 2007
Salt Lake City
Visit site
Machine notwithstanding, Lavazza is about as lousy an espresso that you can buy.

Buy something fresh -- local if you have a good roaster.

That will help immensely.

Secondly, adjust your grinder, it's probably off.

rsoares28

Apr 21, 2014
Visit site
Hi John thanks for the reply. I do have a local roaster that i can try, just waiting for my Lavazza bag to finish. In regards to the grinder i do have it set to the finest setting. Was hoping for someone with this machine can advise on what settings they used to pull a respectable shot out of it. looks like this isn't the forum for super automatic owners

Surfer

Jun 18, 2011
Boca Raton, FL
Visit site
Get rid of Lavazza and go for fresh roasted, Lavazza charges $$$ for stale beans. However your problem is also a common issue with a superauto, it'll never come remotely close to a semi-auto, even low end semi-auto machine can outperform commercial superautos, just inherent to their design. I have a friend with a Jura C9 and it's always been a watered down more like gusher shot, same for other home superautos I've used, no matter what settings or grinder/water adjustment made. They can make just "passable" drinks, meaning more like a cup of coffee or milk based, but their severely lacking for espresso.

Your only thing to improve it is fresh roasted beans and adjusting the grind settings. Stick more to a medium roast also, darker roast can gum up the internals of a superauto.

rsoares28

Apr 21, 2014
Visit site