Espresso Machines & Grinders - Which Brands are Good to Buy?

jgirl86

Aug 20, 2014
Visit site
I been looking on Craigslist to buy a used espresso machine and grinder, and I'm not too sure which brands are good? I'm not looking to buy the top of the line, since I'm new at the coffee business, however I need one that makes a good cup of café for customers. If you guys can maybe give me a list of the top 5 or 10 espresso/grinders you think are good, that'd be awesome! - Thanks!

danielspdx

Aug 17, 2014
Portland, OR
Visit site
Honestly, I'd need a lot more background information before recommending a machine and grinder. There are too many variables to just say: buy brand x. You can spend less than $1000 on a used machine to over $30,000 for a new machine, and anywhere from $300 on a used grinder to $3,000 on a new one.

I'm assuming you'll be serving lattes and the like? How many drinks per hour? Are you offering decaf (need another grinder)? Do you need 110v or will you have access to 220v? Can your machine be plumbed in to water? Can you plumb in the drain? Will you be making the drinks or will you be hiring a barista? Will the machine be stationary or will it need to be moved (on a cart)?

I think you need to find out what your needs are, then look for the equipment to fit that need.

jgirl86

Aug 20, 2014
Visit site
Okay, my budget is only up to $800 for an espresso machine and like $300 - $500 for a grinder. And I'm looking to make quite a few drinks an hour, and all the different types of lattes, fraps, etc.

Why do I need a separate grinder for decaf? And I'm sorry, but what do you mean by "plumb?"

danielspdx

Aug 17, 2014
Portland, OR
Visit site
Okay, my budget is only up to $800 for an espresso machine and like $300 - $500 for a grinder.