Newbie here, need espresso machine advice!

Blueridger

Jun 1, 2014
Visit site
I have been reading for months and trying to make some decisions. We are in the process of opening a coffee shop and trying to decide on an espresso machine. I need help trying to figure out which brand of machine? We are leaning towards a semi-automatic. We will be located one block off campus of a major university. Not sure what the traffic flow will be, no drive thru. Approximately 1250 sq ft for the seating area. I am guessing a 2 group is big enough or perhaps a 3? Nope, money does not grow on trees in my back yard so we will be purchasing a used espresso machine. Any help, kind advice would greatly be appreciated!

Last edited by a moderator:

chast

Jul 30, 2006
MA
Visit site
You need to be very careful buying a used espresso machine.....you can be burnt very easily and not by the steam wand. 2500.00 give or take a little will buy you a new semi. Most likely a single but it would be a starting point until business booms and you can afford to purchase a 2 group. Lot of machines are not UL stamped/approved/listed so if your area requires this then you need to find one that does. Lots of shops have equipment that is not UL and depending on the town and building inspectors some are allowed to get away with it. A single group with extra portafilters worked for me when I started

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Hello "Blueridger"

Welcome to the Coffee Forums.

Since you say you've been lurking for months, did you see any of the threads where people have offered suggestions about espresso machines?

Are you familiar with espresso machines and how to operate them? Will you be hiring a barista?

How will you find a used machine? Are you near a local place that sells them, or are you looking for suggestions (and possible a seller) here within the Coffee Forums?