Francis Francis X1 - is it a problem with the thermostat or the boiler?

okigen

Feb 15, 2015
Visit site
Hi guys,

I'm an a newbie who has just bought an used FF X1 as an entry machine... Not a great one I know, but at £60 I thought at least I could give it a go... I use a preground coffee from Pact Coffee (a weekly subcription service).

Anyways, first thing is the clock does not work. It always shows 20 C degree at the brewing mode, then pump to 45 at the steaming mode. The real temperature is much higher than that. When I put a meat thermometer under the flowing down water (without the portafilter) in the brewing mode, it shows 85 - 90 degree, and gradually decreases after the poured water reached half a soup bowl) .

This result is achived only after letting the machine heat for 20 minutes.

Still, the product is a bit watery and sour in my opinion.

Is the temperature too low? Do you think whether it is a problem with the boiler or thermostat? I'm thinking of fixing it myself as repairing looks quite costly without warranty :-?

shadow745

Aug 15, 2005
Central North Carolina
Visit site
The first run of X1 machines didn't seem to have much going for them as they had an aluminum boiler and had poor temperature control based on what I've read. Later versions of the X1 and the rest of the X line that followed have very solid brass boilers and excellent temperature control. I recently bought a barely used 12 year old X5 for almost nothing and am very impressed with the build quality and performance. Don't know about your X1, but my X5 has excellent temperature stability and the heating element kicks on quite often and sorta pulses to keep the boiler temperature within a few degrees of threshold. There is no high/low swing on temperature as is often the case with single boiler machines.