Francis Francis X1 cutting off my electricity

illyfan

Jul 13, 2015
Visit site
I am looking for any advice regarding my Francis Francis X1 machine, I have been using it for nearly 7 years without any major issues but when I switched it on for my morning coffee the other day it cut off all the power in my house. It took some time to realise the coffee machine was the offender for the power cut after ruling out a local area power cut/any other electricals that could have been causing the outage. The machine had managed to get all the way to when the the green indicator light shows & the machine beeps to indicate it is ready, just after this is when the outage occured. I tried it in different sockets but with no joy, still cutting the power.
After a lot of internet research I have found that it is certainly not the greatest machine ever built & the numerous faults that I have read about are certainly an eye opener but I am loathed to give up on my precious X1.
It is looking like the most likely culprit is the heating element but rather than pay a hefty amount to get it repaired/serviced I have removed the casing to see what would need to be done to change the heating element & see if I could spot anything untoward with the components (I didn't).
So my question is this, does anyone see anything dodgy with the internal parts or have an idea of how to dismantle the boiler as really I don't know what I am looking at but am one of those people that if something breaks I try my best to fix it, sometimes goes well/sometimes goes disastrously, have found it is always best to ask others in the know before I go at it like a bull in a china shop just to minimize the 'botch it up' ratio.
Also, in a worst case scenario that it can't be fixed has anyone ever attempted using alternative brand parts in the shell.
I have attached some pics of my machine (front/back/sides/close ups), any response would be greatly appreciated