Can't have a coffee pot!!

ksigtad

Aug 26, 2015
Visit site
I just signed up to this forum so I apologize if this has been answered already.

I am a teacher and have always had a single cup coffee maker in my classroom. This year I was informed that I can no longer keep that in my room. (I think that it's considered a fire hazard even though the ancient one that stays hot all day in the break room isn't a fire hazard.)

Anyway, I'm looking for an easy way to make single cups of coffee. Instant coffee is way too weak but I was thinking about using something similar to a tea infuser. I buy the preground grocery store coffee and would like to continue that due to it's low cost.

Any suggestions?

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Welcome to the Coffee Forums website.

Do you plan to try to make your coffee in the classroom? Do you have access to hot water there?

When I was working at a local college, some of the instructors brought in their coffee and their own French Presses and made their coffee using the hot water from hot spigot on the water cooler dispenser. They said the water was hot enough to brew the coffee. But, the problem with that was the cleanup. French presses and coffee grounds can be pretty messy.

Some of the other people brought in the prefilled coffee bags (I think Folgers makes them) and made their coffee using the hot water. It's supposedly better than making instant coffee.

You can try a tea infuser in hot water and see what happens. Maybe you should practice with it at home so you'll know if it works well enough for you.

Rose

CCafe

Aug 11, 2004
Des Moines, Iowa
Visit site
Another way is to bring a thermos from home full of hot water and use the French Press that PinkRose is talking about. I've seen a few schools who even frown on a French Press as they try to sight safety concerns if you drop it, but I feel that's just trying to take it a step too far.