well I don't like coffee, so this might sound odd, but if you will read on... :)

TweetyBirdBrain

Jul 8, 2017
Visit site
Most appropriate espresso equipment for a newbie :D

HI,

I don't like coffee. I actually never acquired the taste for the burnt bitter flavour. I do however, love espresso, cappuccino and latte's.

I bought a Ninja Coffee Bar (returning), it says it can make lattes, but it doesn't make espresso, which I think is kinda weird.

Anyway, I'm hunting for an espresso machine, and maybe a grinder? I'm pretty new to the whole coffee thing, normally I just order 1 at the local coffee shop, but I'm thinking of having one daily.

SO here's some thoughts? I'm trying to stay sub-$300

Breville Roma ESP8XL ($100-$170)
Breveille BREBES250XL ($246)
DeLonghi ECP3630 ($160-$240)
Delonghi EC702 ($290)
Phillisp Saeco HD8327/47 Poemia ($225)

Did I miss any others worth considering? What do I pick ? (daily espresso morning)...

Do I need a coffee grinder? Any suggestions? reasonable budget (under $100)

Thanks a bunch...

TBB

Last edited:

TweetyBirdBrain

Jul 8, 2017
Visit site
Hey some great responses here, Its not that I don't want to spend money, I just for me, I don't see why I need the $1500 machine? that's all. I always thought espresso and coffee makers and tea and all that were pretty basic in nature, had no idea, it needed this or that, or this changed it, or that changed, etc.etc.etc.

SO here goes my next question: (please bear in mind I'm up here in Canada, so if you see something in USD, automatically tack on 40% to get CAD$.

So lets talk coffee grinders? What do i really need to make a good perhaps even great cup of espresso? I have no idea about manufacturers or quality, so I'm just gonna throw some stuff out there

********THESE PRICES ARE IN CAD!!!

Breville BCG600SIL The Dose Control Pro Coffee Grinder ($170)

Breville the Dose Control Coffee-Grinder ($140)

Baratza Encore Burr Grinder ($180
Capresso Stainless Steel Burr Grinder ($80)