New Machine to me. What are your thoughts on this Rancilio Machine ??

aboa13

Feb 1, 2020
Visit site
0a234b7f96466cd43374c2e21cf88ca4.jpg
Im new to the coffee game. Got this unit at a smoking deal. Curious about all your thoughts on this particular machine.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member
Feb 28, 2008
Near Philadelphia, PA
Visit site
Hello Aboa 13,

It would be helpful if you could tell us what Rancilio model it is.

I hope your smoking-good deal turns out to be a good one and that you'll get lots of good use out of your "new to you" machine.

~ Rose

Last edited:

shadow745

Aug 15, 2005
Central North Carolina
Visit site
That's a V1 (Version) Silvia, which is a great single boiler/double use machine. Simple/solid workhorse that can give you great espresso, just have to dial in the temperature/pressure with a bit of experimenting. I've had one for a little over 3 yrs and have cranked out around 6,000 doubles with it. Not long ago I replaced quite a few parts in it... not from failure, just preventive maintenance as I use it quite a bit. Get it dialed in with a capable grinder, FRESH coffee, balanced water and some time/effort/patience and it will return the favor in spades.

Will likely benefit from a descale process as well as backflushing. I do highly recommend not using the stock basket(s) as they are a joke. The updated Rancilio 18 gram basket really brings it to life. Also toss that lame plastic joke of a tamper. You don't need to spend much as I've used a fantastic solid stainless 58.0 mm tamper I got on Amazon for $20.

Last edited:

Franklin

Feb 25, 2020
Visit site