Troubleshooting: no crema after misplacing portafilter?

expresso1948

Oct 7, 2020
Visit site
Hi guys! As some of you know, I'm a beginner on coffee machines, and recently bought a De'Longhi ECP3220 about two weeks ago. Though super-entry level and yes, pretty limited in some ways, I've been quite happy with it so far.

HOWEVER: yesterday I accidentally misplaced the portafilter before brewing my coffee, only noticed that something was wrong when coffee started taking too long to start flowing, finally flowing in a super watery way. Realizing what was going on, I stopped it all, cleaned up and started over.

To my surprise, however, the coffee this time had like almost zero crema.

After that, I tried re-priming the machine just in case, and made two more coffees. Though not as bad, still they had clearly much less crema than expected - including today, when using fresher coffee.

The question is: could I have damaged the machine just by that misplacing? Is that a thing that happens? Or is misplacing something that happens all the time to you with no consequence?

Any help is appreciated by the newbie here :) Thank you!!

expresso1948

Oct 7, 2020
Visit site
What do you mean by misplaced?

How to explain... I fitted it on the machine, maybe a bit distractedly and it seemed properly placed. Looking at it seconds before brewing began, I had the feeling it was a bit crooked, like "bending" more towards one side. And then, everything I described happened and I could confirm that it was indeed crooked.

Somewhat like a lid on a jar that closes it, but in a crooked kind of way, with its screw not properly following the its track on the lid in order to properly close it - but closing it nonetheless. Does that make sense to you?

expresso1948

Oct 7, 2020
Visit site
Update: after 4-5 days of priming (3 times) and making 2 or 3 cups of coffee a day, today the results seem to be back to normal-ish - not totally convinced, but at this point it might be psychological lol.