portable coffee makers for camping etc

Hi, I am a design student researching portable coffee makers (all types) to be used in outdoor activities.

If you have used portable coffee makers, how would you rate the coffee compared to the coffee you can make at home?

Also, how would you compare the process of making coffee outdoors to making it at home?

What would your perfect portable coffee maker be like?

Thank you for your input!

I take a french press with me when I'm camping.

An unbreakable French Press would be my "perfect" portable brewer.

The coffee always tastes better camping! It's the being outdoors and the sounds of nature. It is the perfect "atmosphere" for me.
    Enjoy Your Coffee!
    Pete

I agree with ourcoffeebarn. I have not used my auto drip coffee brewer for over two years. The french press is one of the best brewing methods I have used, (with the exception of a Fetco drip machine at a restaurant I used to work at).

Where have you guys been? REI has been selling lexan (polycarbonate) french presses in several sizes for something like 10 years. The last time I was at REI (about 2 weeks ago) I saw: adaptors to turn your 1 liter nalgene bottle into a press, a Jet-boil system (boils a liter of water in something like a minute and a half) that has a press built in, and an insulated travel mug with a press build into the lid. In addition to that, there are gold mesh cups that fit into any coffee mug, and a little aluminum espresso makers to put on your stove (makes 1 shot, uses a pressure process like the italian stove-top coffee pots). I've even seen a coffee maker that looks like a mister coffee, but made of metal, that is designed to fit on a standard green coleman stove and makes 10 cups!