Please recommend best espresso machines under $1000 USD

joeblow822

Jan 17, 2008
Visit site
I apologize if similar questions have been asked before, but I searched the forums and I can''t find the answer I need. I''ve never had an espresso machine before, so I have no experience to go from. I''ve been looking for a good machine for weeks, but can''t find anything that fits this description.

My budget is approximately $1000 for a super-automatic or $800 for a semi-automatic (because then I have to buy a grinder too).

I''m looking for an espresso machine that fulfills the following criteria:

1. Either semi-automatic or super-automatic.

I know with practice you can make a better espresso in a semi-auto, but I also like the idea of just hitting a button in the morning and having my coffee ready. I don''t want any \"plain auto\" machines because I figure if I''m going to lose some quality, I might as well have ALL the work done for me.

2. Can make a lot of espresso at a time - most important

I''ve been having a really hard time trying to find a machine that can make more than 2 shots at a time. I''ve checked amazon.com and various manufacturers'' websites, but most of the machines don''t list this specification. Ideally, I would like something that can deliver 5 to 8 ounces of strong espresso in a cup in one run. This way I can make myself a super caffeinated cappuccino or if I have guests, I don''t need to run the machine many times.

3. The steamer/frother can be run without having to make coffee

This is so I can put some froth on top of a chai or hot chocolate.

4. Doesn''t force me to use ESE or pods of any sort.

I want to be able to use my own beans and not have to hunt for and be limited to whatever comes in the pods.

5. Would be nice if the water/milk tanks are made of stainless steel, brass, or glass

I don''t like plastic tanks because they absorb flavors/odors, leave everything smelling and tasting like plastic, get mildewy and are hard to clean, etc