What commercial espresso machine should I purchase?

pluggedin

Jan 28, 2008
Visit site
Hello,

I am just beginning to gather information and hope that you will be kind enough to provide me with some direction. I am planning on opening a coffee shop and would like your recommendation on what brand/model of semi-automatic espresso machine I should purchase for my small business and why you recommend it.

Thanks so much for any information.

Davec

Oct 18, 2006
Old England (UK)
Visit site
A machine that in your location can be easily serviced, plenty of trained engineers and parts easily and economically available. The various brands are much the same, if you pay similar money. You get what you pay for.

The important consideration is whether the machine you purchase can be kept running within your business, so other factors come into play. It becomes less about brand and more about practicality.

IndianaTim

Feb 3, 2008
Visit site
I really like ECM machines, and I understand that they manufacture machines for many other brands, making their parts very easy to obtain and making service easier to acquire.

Whatever you do, don''t buy a machine with history. You don''t know what it''s been through, and it could be worthless or cost you more than a new machine in the first two years of service. Something that was new, and the shop closed after 6 months, might be worth a gamble, but I know cases where folks bought used machines and ended up junking them because they were scaled beyond repair from water deposits. A two group machine should be more than adequate. If you are doing so well you need more capacity, a second 2 group machine would be better than a 3 or 4 group.

Rim

CCafe

Aug 11, 2004
Des Moines, Iowa
Visit site