Clarifiying the meaning of a tablespoon/ scoop

jellicle911

Jul 18, 2009
Visit site
Hi. I'm pretty new to coffee.

I recently purchased a Cuisinart dgb-600bc. I'm pretty happy with it, but I'm a little confused about the meaning of a "scoop" or "tablespoon." If it's a tablespoon of water, then obviously the top surface of the water would be flat. But if you need a scoop of coffee or a tablespoon, is the surface supposed to flat or more mountain-shaped? I'm wondering if anyone could clarify this for both whole bean scoops and (pre)ground coffee.

I've also been confused on this issue for other tea/tablespoons of butter, sugar, etc for a long time. Thanks for humoring me. (I really don't know!!!!!)

Enjoy your coffee!
J

Jan 18, 2008
MASS.
Visit site
Hi Jellicle911 -

A tablespoon would be an exact measure - One level tablespoon.

Sometimes, you may read or hear, "rounded tablespoon" or even "heaping tablespoon"! These are not exact measures. If they were, one could just say "three teaspoons" instead of an estimation of what one would consider to be a heap of something. Or as you described, "mountain-shaped". If it's a sensitive measure, one would do better to use "grams", instead of tablespoons or teaspoons anyway.

A scoop? Well, scoops come in many sizes, so it would depend on the size of the scoop. If it's a scoop that came with the machine, I would assume that they recommend a level scoop. Coffee amounts vary with each person's taste though, so try the level scoop first, then if you like your coffee stronger, move toward that mountain-shape, on your next brew.

I hope this helps.

jellicle911

Jul 18, 2009
Visit site
Thanks. That was a helpful explanation. My wife likes to use a heaping spoon, so I started to get confused. But it turns out that she already understood that it was supposed to be a "level" spoon as you call it. Rather, she's been adding extra coffee as a matter of preference this whole time, haha.

J

PinkRose

Super Moderator
Staff member