Which Saeco to go for? with which grinder?

malmsteen

Aug 7, 2009
Visit site
Hi,

I'm new to the espresso making world...just have been buying Starbucks coffee and now wanting to try making myself. Having said that I'm looking for a decent machine for home use, entry level that will last long until I get really good at making espresso/latte/capuccino.

I came across one of the Saeco models which my friend recommended, it's Saeco Aroma.
I was wondering if this is a good unit. (I noticed black stainless and silver stainless and the price difference was quite big like $80, silver one being more expensive but same material, should I go for silver?) My main concern is the frother being plastic. I've seen cheaper models like Cuisinart or Delonghi with stainless frother and wondering if plastic is ok.

Sorry for the long read but there is more!
Well, obviously I'd like to buy a grinder as well, but wondering if Krups GVX2-12 is a good model for making good espresso. Or is Baratza Maestro better?

Here are the links for two products.

http://www.creativecookware.com/espresso_classico.htm
http://www.cayneshousewares.com/product ... t=0&page=1

Yes, they are Canadian websites because I'm in Canada.
I'd really appreciate your help!

shadow745

Aug 15, 2005
Central North Carolina
Visit site
It's a pretty decent home model. Does have the proper boiler arrangement and some decent features. Don't worry about the frothing attachment as most are plastic anyway. I personally think they're garbage, only adding too much air to help newbies out a bit. If possible you'd want to take it off and use the bare wand anyway and just rely on technique to get the job done.

That machine does use a pressurized portafilter and that's OK to start out with but will hold you back a bit in terms of better espresso. The portafilter can be modified to make it non-pressurized, but I have no idea if it's worth the effort.