Newbie, need a new home coffee pot/maker/brewer

jaystekan

Aug 11, 2011
Visit site
SO I am a longtime coffee fiend, newbie here on the board. For the last year or so, I have been using a Keurig pod machine, with my own home-ground coffee in a refillable pod. Well the Keurig finally gave out on me. Unfortunately right now, I am using a Mr. Coffee 4-cup drip machine that has a short in it somewhere. I get zapped everytime I press the brew button, but it was what I had in the garage.

Anyway, time to buy a new coffee maker. The wife and I are the coffee drinkers in the house. I drink about 3 cups throught the day and the wife drinks 2. I am tired of filling the small pod for every cup of coffee in the Keurig, that gets tiresome doing it five times a day, so I dont want a new Keurig. I love technology, but I think I am looking for a simpler way to make coffee. In my coffee years, I have used a drip machine(decent but not great), Aeropress, French Press, Percolator and finally the Keurig. I use a hand burr grinder for my beans.

I am thinking about a Vintage Pyrex Flameware glass stovetop percolator, or maybe a Yama siphon/vacuum stovetop unit. The Zojirushi Zutto 5-cup drip also caught my interest(I like the idea of a drip cone machine). Or possible a simple cheap Melitta manual drip(I heard they make decent coffee).

So, for a nice homemade coffee for the wife and I, what would people suggest? Preferably under $100.00. I don't mind a bit of work for a decent cup.

Thanks for the help.

Last edited:

JJohnson0731

Aug 10, 2011
New Jersey
Visit site
jaystekan,