Breville BCG800XL Burr Grinder / Cuisinart EM100 question

bob_loblaw

Nov 21, 2011
Visit site
Hi. I'm relatively new to this coffee thing. I've been lurking on this board for months, as well as on coffeegeek, so, while I'm new, I'm not overly ignorant.

My ultimate goal is to make a fantastic americano 80% of the time, and an even better double shot of espresso 20% of the time.

I currently use the above Breville BCG800XL Burr Smart Grinder (modified to include extra shims in the grinder head to produce a finer grind than factory) [ search on amazon for this model no, I can't post links until I have 5 or more posts ] and a Cuisinart EM-100 espresso maker [ search on amazon for this model no, I can't post links until I have 5 or more posts ]. This machine wasn't my first choice, but I got it in a trade for a Bosch Tassimo I had that I felt was junk.

I feel that the espresso machine is not up to par. It seems like it doesn't always produce the same temperature water, however, I'll say that it is generally relatively consistent. I'm wondering of the grinder may be a bit of a waste of money as well. Amazon reviews on this grinder are almost all very positive and I'm satisfied with the unit, however, I'm no expert, and I know Breville have a reputation of making brewing equipment that's good, but not the best. But perhaps I'm just listening to too many snobs with multi-kilobuck machines. Anyway, I have the grind and tamp down to pulling a double shot in somewhere between 20 and 22 seconds, 80% of the time.

So, my main question is, should I try a new espresso machine, or a new grinder first? My second question is related somewhat to the first one, is this grinder a cheap junk grinder with a fancy computer screen, or is it a comparatively decent unit?

Thanks for any input you have. And, coffee on!

shadow745

Aug 15, 2005
Central North Carolina
Visit site