Espresso grinder for a student

vimes

Mar 1, 2012
Visit site
Hello! I've decided to buy an old school espresso can (a Bialetti 6800 Moka Express 6-Cup Stovetop Espresso Maker), because ...I love coffee, so much. I am also a student, so cash is tight. I've heard you need a powerful bean grinder in order to make "espresso powder", or the beans won't get ground fine enough. So...my question, I need a good, cheap coffee grinder that does the job. I don't care about fancy, and I don't care if I have to manually grind it, so long as it's cheap and does the job properly. Any suggestions? In advance, thank you for all answers :heart:

shadow745

Aug 15, 2005
Central North Carolina
Visit site
It's not really about having a powerful grinder... as it's more about the burrs. Turkish is the only brew method that requires "powder" as espresso range is more like table sugar or slightly finer in texture. Stovetop espresso shouldn't be as picky with grind quality and should be coarser than a typical espresso grind.

You can pick up something like the Capresso Infinity, Baratza Maestro or maybe even the Bodum Bistro for under $100. That should cover your needs on a budget.

If you want to go the hand mill route you can find espresso capable mills for $50~ and many of them can be on par with electric grinders costing hundreds.

Just be sure you source good FRESH coffee. Otherwise you'll be chasing your tail to produce something drinkable.

Startup

Feb 11, 2012
Visit site

Espresso 101

How to make your espresso the cream of the crop]Last reviewed: December 2009
Making superior espresso requires following a time-honored formula and accounting for such things as room temperature and humidity, says John Fischer, an associate professor at the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, N.Y., who has been a manager of popular Italian restaurants in Manhattan. "There are a lot of variables the talented barista knows about," he says. The following tips will help you brew like a pro: