Which equipment companies are best?

Jitterbeanz

Apr 22, 2012
Missouri
Visit site
I am new to this trade and looking to start my own coffee shop. I have seen many different equipment companies online, but I'm not sure which companies I should actually consider purchasing. I was looking for advice one different equipment that you all have used and would recommend to others and do you recommend looking at used or new.
thank you all and have a great day.

NicolettiCoffee

Apr 5, 2012
Brooklyn, New York
Visit site
For American Coffee I have always used Bunn and they have good stuff and decent service with ok pricing.As far as Espresso....there are so many options to go with...I'll say Faema or La Cimbali for Espresso machine and Mazzer for Grinder..That's just my two cents...

John P

Jan 5, 2007
Salt Lake City
Visit site
Fetco is the best for controlled temperature and saturation for drip, and then Curtis. Everyone else is "everyone else".

Faema? La Cimbali? Really?!!?

When it comes to espresso equipment you should think about:

1) Availability of 24/7 maintenance OR your ability to service yourself
2) Quality of machine
3) see #1

The espresso machine is the heart of your operation, you can't afford to have it go down without a backup or a great tech at the ready.

For espresso, LaMarzzocco would be tops on double boiler machines, and the best overall machine in terms of quality, temperature stability, consistency, and national parts/service availability with Nuova Simonelli the top HX machine.

If you do your own maintenance, then you can start to think about other high-end machines such as Synesso and Mistral.

No serious shop or coffee enthusiast would ever consider La Cimbali, and other than a true throwback E-61 for nostalgia's sake, Faema is woefully unstable in temperature repeatability with fluctuations as much as 14 degrees F intershot. Those are simply not good machines.

chast

Jul 30, 2006
MA
Visit site