Ambex Roaster Question

Really a question for any roaster, but I thought I'd specify the brand I'm roasting on. I'm fairly new to the industry and have a terribly rookie question. I have my roaster side vented out the wall do to the impossible venting straight out roof. It's a 2002 5K that I bought close to 2 years ago now. I've maintained it through washing of and vacuuming of nearly all internal elements short of tearing out the motors. I'm getting smoldering chaffe on nearly every other roast. it's usually located either on the the collection side opposite of the exit to the blower or in the vent itself a couple of times. I'm assuming this is an airflow issue but I vacuum every other roast and it's still happening. Since I've bought this roaster with no diagram of internal parts, I'm wondering if I'm missing something or if it's at a point that I need to tear out the fans and inspect those for buildup. I've gone a year and more and this issue just started creeping up recently. I just don't want it to continue as it is affecting my roasting profile/ flavor/ and safety! Thanks!

jason

bprotsman

Jan 13, 2008
Ft Lauderdale
Visit site
Yea, I would have to think that's an airflow issue if you have been roasting on it a year and it's just now happening. Would clean your fan, motor, and any airways. Also, open up your ventilation stack and clean that to. I try and clean our stacks once a month as well as get on the roof and make sure there is no blockage. Hope this helps.

I figured it was time for me to tear all that apart and clean it all out. I do try to keep up with my stack cleaning but maybe I'm just not doing it often enough. I'm not terribly high volume but maybe that's not the point. Anyway, it's good to get outside opinions as I'm learning as I go. Thank you for the input!

Jason

coffeejoes

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
Hey Jason,