Barcoding bags

Ronc23

Oct 1, 2013
Michigan
Visit site
Hello,

I'm fairly new to the forum. I've been roasting coffee for over two years ...it started off as a hobby and led into selling coffee as a fundraiser for a charity that I participate in. Now it's gotten to the point where I'll be looking into purchasing an entry level commercial roaster because of the demand from people wanting my coffee. I've also talked with a local store that would be willing to carry my coffee but said that I would need proper packaging (currently working on) and making sure it had a barcode on it. I've done a little research on it and was wondering if anyone could elaborate on the process to purchasing barcodes and weather I would have to subscribe to a membership?

Thanks!

Ron

BTW...this forum has been very helpful with knowledge of the coffee industry!

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
There are websites for purchasing bar codes. I don't have the addy on my phone but can post it here later.

Basically, for each "flavor" of coffee the stores will carry, you will need a separate bar code. If you have five different coffees in ten different locations you will need to purchase a total of five bar codes.

Your codes can be purchased and then downloaded and printed onto stickers from your personal computer/printer. Each retail outlet can then program their system to recognize the bar codes as they desire for price and product name.

Last edited:

expat

May 1, 2012
Ireland
Visit site
I did a lot of research into this awhile back because all my coffees had to be barcoded for retail sales.

So you can buy out of date barcodes that will work for you (long story but you can find out all about it on the Internet). These are unique barcode numbers that you own. No one else does. People sell them for about $20 each.