coffee business noob question

IndoBrewer

Jul 23, 2014
Visit site
Hello all fellow coffee enthusiasts,
I'm a total newbie in coffee business, but recently I stumbled upon coffee business which seems promising.

I recently stumbled upon access to many coffee farmers in Indonesia region which is Sumatra, java, bali and flores.

So I was thinking to export raw coffee bean to U.S market, but since I'm a newbie I have no idea where to start especially on grading the coffee bean etc.

Is there any course or literature or anything that I should take?

ensoluna

Banned
Apr 29, 2014
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Visit site
hello freddy,
how are you?

"TO EXPORT RAW COFFEE BEAN TO U.S. MARKET & NO IDEA WHERE TO START ON GRADING THE COFFEE BEAN ETC"

I can write about this virtually all day long, but it will be too long, no one will ready it. so i will make it short and sweet. (still it will be longer than normal posting of others)

1. you need to hire yourself a coffee expert who can Cup and tell you how good the coffee is COMPARED TO OTHER COFFEES AROUND IN INDONESIA. also he need to be able to make cupping report to US customers. (US customers will ask for cupping report, price per kg/lb and farm/region information...etc) Caution * many of cuppers are being sponsored by association or farms, so they are not being objective at all. and since you do not know about coffee much, basically, you will have to trust what he says. that could be dangerous. ..... if you know what i mean. you got to find very good and honest cupper...And good luck to you on that)

2. coffee position in terms of quality vs. buying pricing.