Why hasn't a 3rd Wave given Starbucks a run for its money?

smithms176

Dec 11, 2015
Buena Park, CA
Visit site
Hi everyone! Coffee Forum newbie here! I'm just curious to get people's opinions as to why we haven't seen the meteoric rise of a third wave style coffee shop? On a related note, I'm curious about the staying power of starbucks in the face of competition from clearly superior coffee available at third wave stores? I dont know anyone who actually likes starbucks. I think of Starbucks the way I think of a red delicious apple. You know, the apple we all grew up eating, it was immaculate looking, perfectly symmetrical, a glorious shade of red, slickly-marketed, but tasted disgusting? We all thought we liked it because who doesn't like apples right? But then one day you took a bite of a fiji, gala, or a honeycrisp apple and wondered how you had been duped all that time. I feel like Starbucks is in that position. The masses think they like it but its only because they mostly haven't tried the better stuff. When people wake up to it, Starbucks will go the way of the red delicious apple.

John P

Jan 5, 2007
Salt Lake City
Visit site
Quality, in any form, is not about popularity. It's not about mass consumption or mass appeal. Why are more Ford sold than BMW? Why more Benihana than Nobu?

Actual "Third Wave" coffee shops will never have mass appeal, but I think that the trend towards better coffees and the public understanding there is a vast difference between the Starbuckian type places and those that take more of a craft approach.
Many places will crop up that speak the language, have beautiful latte art, but have lousy espresso. This in a lot of ways delays the industry and the public's knowledge base moving forward as a whole, but at least the trend tends to be upward.