Have land in Horrendous that produces over 5,000 lbs of beans - Need advice

jonathansmith772

Dec 31, 2015
Visit site
I'm starting a coffee business because my wife has land in Hondurans that they use to harvest coffee beans and cocoa. I'm trying to help her get her business started because I do internet marketing for a living and I know the coffee business is booming. What do we need to do to export the coffee beans?

Thanks for taking the time to read and give your thoughts.

Jonathan

ensoluna

Banned
Apr 29, 2014
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Visit site
if your farm produces 5000 lbs beans, it is only about 12% of a 20' container which means very very small production for international customers to buy.

in order to export directly from your farm to overseas, you need export license. 99%, I do not think your wife has it.
that means, you have to sell your coffee to local exporters or cooperative, rather than selling directly to overseas.

I am "guessing" that your farm is about 3000 feet high altitude with mixed beans, catuai, caturra or catimor. (I am guessing this because 70% of Honduras farms are situated around 3000 feet altitude. But if your farm is located at higher than 5000 feet with single varietals, it could be slightly more profit, about 10% to 18% more)

considering the coffee market pricing and your coffee quality, you can sell your coffee to exporters or Coops in Honduras around $1.10 per pound.
that means, your crop for one year, (I am also assuming that your 5K pound of bean is green coffee, not parchment coffee) will be around $5500.00 worth of income.

if your 5K pound is parchment, your green bean will be 3500 pounds x $1.10 = $3850.00

from that after deducting your expenses (labor, fertilizers, rent, processing fee..etc), your net profit will be between $1000 to $1400 range.

jonathansmith772

Dec 31, 2015
Visit site
Where is Horrendous? Sounds frightfully far away...just sayin'...

lol...