Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Boca Raton
    Posts
    3,303
    why do you need a mixer if you are not doing flavored coffee? All my blends are are roasted as a blend. I do not mix coffee post blend.
    "Wine is for aging, not coffee."
    Ken Hutchinson, Starsky and Hutch

  2. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Boca Raton
    Posts
    3,303
    You do not need a mixer unless you are doing flavored coffee. I roast all of my coffees pre blended. I do not post blend my coffee. If you do at some point need to post blend a blend then use the cooling bin from the roaster.
    "Wine is for aging, not coffee."
    Ken Hutchinson, Starsky and Hutch

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    18
    @topher
    Thanks very much.

    But I have couple of questions
    1) how can you handle different roasting profiles for different green-beans in the same pre-blended batch ?
    how can you handle the consistency and avoid over/under roasting for some beans ?

    2) another questions does the batch-size (5 kilo , 10 , 30 etc) affect the roast-profile ?
    does the roast-profile results will be different if I roast 10 or 30 kilos ? is the weight a factor in the roasting-profile ?

    Thanks very much

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    6
    Thrilled to hear more - following

  5. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Boca Raton
    Posts
    3,303
    Quote Originally Posted by zahaby View Post
    1) how can you handle different roasting profiles for different green-beans in the same pre-blended batch ?
    how can you handle the consistency and avoid over/under roasting for some beans ?

    2) another questions does the batch-size (5 kilo , 10 , 30 etc) affect the roast-profile ?
    does the roast-profile results will be different if I roast 10 or 30 kilos ? is the weight a factor in the roasting-profile ?
    Here are two different blends. Each one has 3 different origins in them. Granted I am not blending say Monsoon Malabar with a Costa Rican because it would come out like salt and pepper. Another thing is with experience comes consistency.
    Establishing Coffee Processing Factory - Plant in Egypt-20181026_061157.jpgEstablishing Coffee Processing Factory - Plant in Egypt-20181026_062225.jpg
    Batch size or roaster size? I can roast down to about 15 lbs consistently on my 60 kilo. But roasters size from 5 to 60 isn't really different....I just know that once you get into 120's and bigger you lose the control that you have in smaller roasters. Hope this helped.
    "Wine is for aging, not coffee."
    Ken Hutchinson, Starsky and Hutch

 

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How to trim a coffee plant
    By Wally in forum Coffee Beans & Espresso Beans
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-05-2016, 06:08 AM
  2. Homegrown coffee plant
    By gcaira in forum Coffee Beans & Espresso Beans
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-22-2015, 07:01 AM
  3. Have You Ever Seen Coffee Plant ?
    By icm in forum Introductions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-17-2013, 03:03 PM
  4. establishing wholesale prices for retail customers...
    By little roastHer in forum Coffee Industry Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-29-2007, 06:22 AM