Descaling the water reservoir of a BUNN Soft Heat Commercial Brewer

Mr.Peaberry

Aug 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi All,

I bought a used, 11 year old, Bunn Soft Heat commercial brewer with the intention of reselling it. While testing it's operational status, I discovered that the lime buildup inside the internal reservoir is so bad that the water level probe and solenoid are unable to operate as intended. This situation is complicated by the fact that replacement tanks do not seem to be available at this point...so I'm stuck with needing to descale the darn thing. I don't want to damage the tank, or use metal on metal as in using steel wool or a metal scraper. Anyone have any experience with this sort of thing and can guide me down this road??

Cheers,

Peaberry

Musicphan

May 11, 2014
Kansas City
Visit site
Can you remove the reservoir? What is the tank made of?

I have limited experience but I did tear down / rebuild a LaMarzocco Linea. I soaked the boiler/tanks/metal parts in a citric acid. You can find citric acid in the food canning section of most hardware stores. I simply filled a plastic storage tote w/ water and CA and let the parts soak for days.

Mr.Peaberry

Aug 7, 2013
Visit site
The tank is stainless steel. It doesn't have to be removed. I've already removed the lid of the reservoir, and anything I put inside will sit until I drain it. So citric acid may be a bit too harsh don't you think??? I know there are many products offered at Whole Latte Love, but I prefer the garden variety approaches, lol! I will likely end up doing the citric acid anyway, as I'm not going to keep the machine, and using it once to remove the scale versus continued usage may be just fine for those who restore coffee equipment of all kinds...thanks for your quick reply Musicphan...

Peaberry

Mr.Peaberry

Aug 7, 2013
Visit site