Considering Hospital Carts

Docthomas

Nov 6, 2007
TEXAS
Visit site
I''ve been lurking here for a while, just registered and I wanted to toss out my latest idea.

I am a physician in a 400 bed hospital with no coffee servcie outside of the cafeteria and the horrible vending machines. We have an adjacent 400bed hospital I am not asscoaited with but my partner is. I am not going to be able to do this full-time initially but I hope to one day be able to expand to the point it replaces medicine entirely.

Town is close to 100K with 3 starbucks and 4 or 5 smaller private places in town, all doing very well. Nothing in the hospitals at all.

So we have the opportunity and I think the chance to do both hospitals simultaneously. We have reasonable relationships with the administration, as we are both on various committess within the hospital. I know medicine, and I know coffee only in as much as I know my day is not complete without a great cup (or three) to start my day and often, where possible a good pressed cup in the afternoon.

I seriously explored the option of a franchise through a growing company in the SE, USA,. I met financial #s and the toen met demographics but they were not interested in bridging the gap across the 3 or 4 states to support us. They also wanted NOTHING to do with a cofee cart or kiosk. That was actually in the agreement!

SO I am back to the possibility of a cart in one or both of the hospitals. I think it cold be a profitable endevour for us, I don''t think we NEED a franchise, but honestly I/we need some education in the industry.

Carts/Equipment: Size, ammenities (health dept regs excluded), equipment?
Labor: estimate costs? both of us are physcians and will be unable to spend more than casual time at the stands. I want to be involved but I will not be able initially to leave my obligations to run the store more than a week or two as it gets going.