Newbie question

tkln

Dec 7, 2007
Visit site
Hi everyone...I found this forum while doing some searching on the web and I have to say it''s a wealth of information...I have read through a lot of the posts, but have a few questions that I''m hoping I can get some help with.

I currently work as a graphic designer and I am happy with my job but I''ve been feeling the desire to do something different for a while now...my passion is baking and cooking, but I''m well aware that being a chef is a nightmare so I have no desire to do that. I have been thinking about possibly opening a bakery or cafe, but have just really seriously started thinking about it...

Now I have absolutely no retail or restaurant experience...all my jobs have always been office related...so I was planning to get a part time job in a bakery after the holidays and to also take a restaurant/cafe class to learn more about the business and to help me gain an understanding of what I''m in store for.

How does this relate to coffee??? Sorry! I came across a coffee shop/cafe for sale in the resort town where we own a condo (and where we were planning on moving FT in the next year or so). This is a small but very vibrant resort town, and this is the only coffee shop around for at least 10 miles...it has been in business for quite a while and has gone through some extensive renovations, it''s in a great location and has had substantial growth in the last four/five years. I contacted the real estate it''s listed with for information and got some basic info, but I can''t get financials unless I sign a confidentiality agreement. There is room for further growth, as it''s only open til 6, and there is room for entertainment/meals etc...