Guatemalan Huehuetenango by FreshRoastedCoffee LLC

LoveCoffeeLife

Jan 29, 2017
South Eastern USA
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I have no problem mentioning again that I'm new to learning how to taste and judge coffee so please keep that in mind as you read my reviews. I'm having a lot of fun!!

This single origin was purchased online from the above mentioned company. There are a few things that make me suspect that these coffee beans may be a bit past that coveted "freshness" barrier, however given that I'm a novice please advise me if I'm wrong. I'm totally open to all opinions.

I've read that when cupping there can be a fine cell foam that forms if the beans are fresh, not a lot of that. Also when grinding the bean I got a little burned sugary smell. I couldn't taste any burnt taste.

Even with that I was still able to pick up a little cocoa the coffee is very mild upon tasting and woody which stood out. The body was still very light which to me was pleasant, very smooth with a very clean finish.

Overall it was not all bad and totally drinkable.

There you have it. Please comment and advise below. Thanks.

Last edited:

Musicphan

May 11, 2014
Kansas City
Visit site
I think you're overthinking this a bit... from your other thread the beans only list a 'good through date'... I would call the roaster and see if they can give you a explanation of their dating process. I read you placed it in a second bag.. I would think you would ONLY see dramatic 'ballooning' of your bag if it was super fresh - I.E. - received within a few days of roast. Most degassing occurs a few days after roast... if properly packaged with a one way valve you may not see anything. My goal as a roaster is to have it in your hands within a week of roast... seek out a local or regional roaster that packages with a roast date. The key - who did it taste? Did you like it?

ensoluna

Banned
Apr 29, 2014
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Visit site
I am glad that you are having fun learning about coffee.