Kenyan

davidsbiscotti

Oct 4, 2007
Visit site
I went through four 8oz cups of Green Mountain Roaster's Kenyan last night. The aroma from the bag was powerful and I knew I was in for a treat.
But...... After being dissatisfied with the first cup, I tried making each consecutive cup stronger hoping for a richer flavor. It didn't help any.
I of course woke up with a coffee hangover from the dehydration effect it had on me. I think I'll stick with my Sumatra during the day at work and Spanish in the mornings.
My overall impression of the Kenyan is that it's smooth & delicate, more so like tea than the hearty cup of coffee I look for.

I am a novice though and haven't fully developed a real taste for gourmet coffees just yet.
Bear with me, I'm getting there. :wink:

javalicious

Jan 4, 2008
Lancaster PA
Visit site
Did someone say Kenyan? :D

I am a huge fan of Kenya beans. I have also found the Green Mountain a little weak. My current favorite is Aprés Cafe''s Kenya AA Lenana.

If you are looking for something with more flavor give the Aprés Kenya AA Lenana a shot. It got a 90 coffee rating by \"Coffee Review\". It is sweet and rich and has notes of berry and chocolate. I love it. Of course it is a little too rich to drink everyday.

It''s only like $20 a lb too. you can get it at

John P

Jan 5, 2007
Salt Lake City
Visit site
Excellent coffee will taste unexpected. Average quality coffee is not dynamic and does not contain layers of complex and distinct flavors. Also, "Kenyan" may not necessarily be a quality coffee. Is it at least Kenya AA, if so then what lot is it? Or is there a specific estate, mill, region, etc. The better control over the coffee from picking to sorting to milling, etc. the better cup will be produced. With that being said, the roaster can still screw it up, and so can a bad grinder.

You'll know it when you taste it, and you'll never go back.

Enjoy the journey.

davidsbiscotti

Oct 4, 2007
Visit site
kenyan