Newbie looking for advice on roasting good quality green beans HELP!

Heather11

Aug 2, 2013
Visit site
Hello,

I would really appreciate some advice on roasting two green beans - the El Carmen from El Salvador and the Fazenda Rodomunho Natural from Brazil.

I am using a Probatino and so far I have been doing a light roast on both however the Brazillian bean is tasting pretty bitter which it really shouldn't.

I am totally new to this and I want to get the best out of these beans as possible so would really appreciate any help,

I have just done a medium roast on the Brazil - dropped it at 90 and roasted for 15 minutes - is this too long? It looks pretty good and it's even, perhaps I should drop it at a higher temp?

I am not roasting past the second crack on either - perhaps I should try this? I just don't want to go too dark as I really want to bring out the distinct flavour of the beans.

Thankyou.

sae

Nov 16, 2010
Visit site
A drop in temperature of 90 (I'm assuming Celcius?) is too low I'm thinking - try for around 350F. I aim to get to first crack around 9:00-10:00 then drop the gas significantly once first crack is going strong and then coast to my desired roast level.

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
Try dropping at 180 to 190*C.

Do you have the ability to monitor the temp of the bean mass or you forced to go by sight and sound?

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
Btw... If I charged my barrel at 90*c the beans prolly wouldn't make to a medium roast in 15 minutes unless I rushed the heck out of the roast. A medium roast for me entails getting the bean mass up to around 226 to 233*C. In my roaster I like to reach that point in about 15 minutes, charging the barrel at around 190*C and then seeing the temp drop to around 100*C or so before turning around and heading back up. These numbers are approximate as I work in F rather than C.

I would be lost without a way to monitor the temps of the bean mass.

Last edited:

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site