Coffee Roast Analyzer Questions

coffeescience

Aug 27, 2013
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm an optical scientist, and also have a love for coffee, so I've been kicking around the idea of developing a coffee analyzer. I'd be curious what others think might be important to measure for roasters in particular. My target device would probably be in the ~$1000 range, so not super expensive but also not something a hobbyist would likely purchase- I would expect medium sized and up roasters might find it valuable. Given the price range there's going to be some trade off in what can be done without making an expensive or difficult to use analyzer. I envision a handheld device that you could put up against some ground roasted (or green) coffee beans. Here's some ideas I have so far:
1. Roast color- visible color indication
2. Infrared roast color- similar to Agtron
3. Oil content- not sure if this is important?
4. maybe some volatile gases in the freshly ground sample? Sub 1 mg/L (1ppm) values are likely not possible but maybe.

Would any of this be of potential use to test either the coffee quality or roast quality? Are there other parameters that might be of importance? Any advice on potential parameters to measure as well as whether the price range makes sense are appreciated.

Thanks everyone!

coffeescience

Aug 27, 2013
Visit site
Yes, I have heard of them. My understanding was that their device is ~$10k and only measures the roast color in the IR- I think there's room for improvement to that both in price and measured parameters.

JumpinJakJava

Dec 12, 2011
Thomaston, CT
Visit site
Hello Coffeescience --there is always room for true technology. Especially when it may be cost effective for small batch roasters to utilize such a tool.
And maybe not so small roasters! Often though in marketing, the big names(out there), such as Sae mentioned(Agtron), and others with proven products