Best First home roaster

douglycett

Sep 30, 2013
Visit site
So I am thinking about going into the roasting business in the future but I have no experience roasting. I want to get a home roaster that will allow me to learn but also gives me room to grow into experience. Essentially I dont want something that is going to do all the work for me and allows me to get creative in the roasting process.

BuzzRoaster

Feb 20, 2012
Visit site
The BBQ drum roaster is a great all around roaster. It's great for beginners because it's real hard to screw up.

Once you become familiar with the basics, it offers the option to experiment with times and temps. Being a fully manual roaster you can control most of the variables pretty easily.

The BBQ roaster also has the advantage over other roasters in that it has a huge capacity. I use 2 10lb drums to do all of my roasting for my business.

Diamond

Sep 16, 2013
Texas
Visit site
We have been home roasting for some time and we started with a Whirley Pop corn popper on the stove top. It was a great way to learn how the different roast reacted and could do numerous small batches to see what worked best. I still get it out to test small amounts of new beans. We then bought a Behmore 1600 so we could be a little more hands free while roasting. It has several profiles and can roast up to a pound at a time. I have no experience with roasting a full pound at a time and I have read that it may not be the best at roasting a full pound. There does not seem to be any roasters you can grow into. It is either small home roasters or large/expensive shop roasters. The BBQ roaster could be an option and you would have an infinite number of profiles.

CoffeeLovers

Jun 7, 2013
Visit site