Newbie home roaster

pINO

Jan 2, 2014
Jakarta
Visit site
Hi guys, Happy New Year!

I'm a newbie here. I've started to roast my own coffee in my kitchen since last year and can't stop until now. I found that I prefer to roast in small fire (yeah, i use my wife's gas stove & pan ;)) and it takes approx 1 hour to get full city roast+ of 100 gr bean. I enjoy it with traditional (mud style) brewing.
bean.jpghome roasting.jpgMill Grinder.jpgcoffee.jpg
Is it too long? I tried to shortening the time with bigger fire but i lost the exotic character of the bean. Is it true that long roasting produce coffee which is not good for your health?

pINO

sae

Nov 16, 2010
Visit site
it took you one hour to roast one batch? If so then that seems to be WAY too long. You'll want to have your roast done in about 20 minutes but preferably more like in the 15 minute range. A roast that went on for 1 hour will have a lot of the taste roasted out of it and it will be very dull but there are no health effects that I know of from roasting so long.

namballe

Aug 24, 2012
Lima, Peru
Visit site
hi pino,
1st off, welcome to the coffeeforums. 2nd of all, those are some good looking beans, even the roasted ones look evenly roasted considering utilizing the pan method.
yes, as stated above, 1 hour is a long time to roast just 100 gr. of beans. maybe use a larger diameter pan so the beans won't be sitting on top of one another.

CoffeeJunky

Dec 7, 2012
Michigan, US
Visit site
hi pino,
1st off, welcome to the coffeeforums. 2nd of all, those are some good looking beans, even the roasted ones look evenly roasted considering utilizing the pan method.
yes, as stated above, 1 hour is a long time to roast just 100 gr. of beans. maybe use a larger diameter pan so the beans won't be sitting on top of one another.

Welcome aboard,
Please search youtube and see what others are doing.
When you are roasting that long(1hour) you are baking the beans not roasting them.