Favorite blends?

cestrin

Jul 19, 2013
Tempe, AZ
Visit site
I have about 60+ roasts under my belt and would like to experiment with blending origins. I have tried blending a Sumatran and Ethiopian together (the Ethiopian was dry-processed so I figured the Sumatran would dilute the after-taste of the Ethiopian) and I wasn't thrilled with the result. I used a 1:1 ratio.

What advice do you have on ratios and what origins you think go well together?

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
Are you blending before or after roasting? I only blend after roasting. Before starting the business, I studied both sides of the issue and there seemed to be merits for either process. However, experience has shown me that I get better result by roasting components separately. For instance, when blending Sumatra and sidamo, we take those beans to two different roast levels to bring out the best attributes. We also work with a different roast profile for those particular offerings. I take Sumatra to scrolling second crack relatively slowly and sidamo just to second crack quickly for best results.

You need to start experimenting with your ratios. For the berry characteristic of sidamo to shine, we blend two parts sidamo to one part Sumatra. This experimentation is much easier when blends are made post roast. I like to start the experimentation at a 50/50 ratio and go from there. A cupping session may entail 3-5 different ratios of the same beans. Often one blend is noticeable superior. Take notes during the process.

lovethatcoffee

Sep 11, 2013
Visit site
Great question! I have just started doing the same and Eldub brought up a factor that I have been struggling with form the aspect of developing the single origin appropriately. My question is: are there standard lengths of time that most roasters adhere to for developing the SO coffee? Example would be the SIdamo and Sumatra, do you always try to bring the Sidamo to your drop temp quickly?

eldub

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site