Completely new to home roasting/tips on beans

Horeb

Jul 19, 2014
Hodgenville, KY
Visit site
Hello all. I am new to the whole idea of home roasting. Yesterday I did 2 batches in a popcorn popper. If I end up liking the results (so far, so good), I will end up with a better system. Unfortunately, our stove vent is not the greatest so I am forced to find outdoor solutions.

Anyhow, back to the 1st attempt. My beans are a Cameroon Peaberry, I roasted one batch light and one dark (the dark was not on purpose, but at least I did not burn them). It roasted pretty fast 6-8 minutes). While both batches are drinkable, the results were not quite what I was expecting. Don't get me wrong, it is much better than I expected when you consider I bought a $2.99 used popper (I thought it would just catch fire), but the flavor seems to be lacking a bit and the Darker of the 2 (By eye I would call it a light French Roast) does not have a lot of oil. I thought when you roasted dark that a lot of oil would be brought to the surface. Is that incorrect?

I will be traveling to San Diego (Yay! Comic Con) this upcoming week. While I will not be able to roast, I am sure I will be thinking about it. IS there any must try coffee houses that I should hit while I Am in town and are there any places to buy good coffee beans?

On that note, what is the best way to buy beans in general? I am considering a 4 or 8 lb sample pack from Sweet Marias, but am I better to get 5lbs of the same bean from one source rather than a variety?

Any and all advice is appreciated.

peterjschmidt

Oct 10, 2013
Milwaukee, WI
Visit site
Oils will migrate to the surface over time, unless it's a very dark French roast. Give it a few days.

If you feel the beans are lacking, it could be the roasting, but could very well just be the beans. Cameroon is not known for great coffee.