comparing us roaster and diedrich attributes

Nugget

Dec 7, 2014
Visit site
hey guys and girls,
I'm on the hunt for a roaster. I'm considering all brands between 12-18kilo, but particularly was looking for more info in relation to the us roaster and the diedrich. For the 12kilo, the price is similar, but, to me, the us roaster seems to have a better airflow control and more responsive burners. Maybe I'm wrong on that. Why do the diedrich roasters seem to get so much more love than many other brands. I know there's a "cool" factor that people enjoy, but is there anything that is known to be not good with a us roaster? On the surface, they seem better in line with my roasting style and capable of the sweet/caramel, as well as the bright acidic profiles.

Anybody with either machine want to offer some advice? I know there are tons of ir12's out there, but few usrc's.

Last edited:

Musicphan

May 11, 2014
Kansas City
Visit site
Well - I'm far from an expert .... but I pick up my new USRC 12K next week. I did a lot of comparing - and overall I felt the USRC was a bit more value for the buck. They use different types of burner technology - pros and cons of both and you will get opinions on each. Both are USA made. Both are quality machines, both have minor differences between the two. Overall, Diedrich is a much more polished company - literature is cleaner, software appears cleaner and more modern interface (if your going automation which I am not). I personally plan on using Artisian or Cropster and USRC added thermocouples & interface box so there software didn't matter to me - plus it was very expensive. You will get varying opinions on how helpful each company is.. I personally had a better experience with Dan/USRC than Diedrich.. but I had no issue with either companies inquiry. I have visited the USRC manfuacturing site twice... they are always very welcoming and accommodating... and Dan/USRC answered every single stupid questions i asked over the last 12 months.