Bourbon infused beans

Ephilson

Oct 13, 2016
Visit site
Hi all. This is only my second post on this forum. I'm a maple syrup producer in western PA. A very popular offering of mine is a product called "Bourbon Barrel Aged Syrup"...pretty self explanitory. Upon emptying my barrels of syrup, my next goal is to refill those barrels with hot coffee beans in order to infuse the beans with flavors from the barrel. I think this will be a great product.

But I have a couple of questions as to how to go about it. Should I use green or roasted beans? If green is best, is it possible to heat the beans prior to roasting and prior to placement in barrels?

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

ensoluna

Banned
Apr 29, 2014
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Visit site
You can not use coffee green beans at all. NEVER.

You have to use roasted beans. Medium roast (City Roast) and grind it. but it will be more likely to "break" a bean into about 10 pcs (for this, you can not use regular coffee grind machines. you have to use something else...) and make it sure that all the small pcs / grounds will be disregarded. Just cleanly broken pcs of roasted coffee beans.
Then, put them into your bourbon and store it in Dark and Cool place for a week. It would be better to shake the barrel/bottle once a day.
After that, filter it to get the coffees out.

of course, you need to experiment SEVERAL TIMES to get the right flavor. perhaps one small bottle of bourbon with maybe between 50 grams to 200 grams of roasted coffee.
please try many different ways, sizes of ground beans, weights of beans vs bourbon ratio, how long you will infuse, what temp ambiance you will use...etc. There will be so many variables that you will need to test.

Ephilson

Oct 13, 2016
Visit site
I was not thinking of filling the barrel again with syrup, but just dumping beans into the barrel and placing the endback on the barrel. I can't do this with raw beans and roast them later? It's ok either way, I'm learning here.