Does anyone have experience with a smokeless roaster?

franco

Jan 3, 2017
New York
Visit site
Hi all,

Looking into getting the US Roaster Corp Smokeless Roaster. Wanted to ask if anyone has any experience with a smokeless roaster? Does anyone know if it can influence the quality of the end product in some way?

Thank you!

Musicphan

May 11, 2014
Kansas City
Visit site
Does the Revelation model incinerate the smoke like the Loring? I am also wondering if the roast is affected...

I'm far from an expert... but yes, from my understanding the exhaust is run through an incinerator and redirected back into your roaster once 'scrubbed'. Since the exhaust is already hot, there is reduction in your energy costs. Dan showed me one of these roasters when I took the tour of USR... but it wasn't of interest to me so I didn't ask a lot of questions. I know it's significantly less expensive than the Loring, but what isn't? LOL...

John P

Jan 5, 2007
Salt Lake City
Visit site
Yes.

My roaster sits directly under our smoke detector and I have no outside venting.
I've had 2 "smokeless" roasters, one was a small shop roaster from Korea, which had minimal smoke, but you still needed to vent it. I have that one home in case of emergency.
My current roaster is a proprietary drum roaster from FreshRoast in Palo Alto. It has zero smoke due to it's smoke elimination methodology and extremely hefty filtration. I only have warm air coming out the exhaust at maybe 120 F.
There is also a water filtration system available for smaller roasters, but this system or a version of it has been used for years in other countries.

Absolutely does not affect the roast.
The roaster is a tool, find one that works for your space. The magic is the person operating it.

Seb

Mar 18, 2014
Quebec/Canada
Visit site