Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    8

    Help Please: Probat L5 burners keep going out.

    I have a Probat L5 roaster. The burners go out in the middle of the roast causing the temperature to drop. Eventually it will come back on, but I'm getting inconsistent roasts. I've bypassed the Dwyer pressure switch; the ignition module is new, and the igniter/flame sendor are also new. What is wrong?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    1,297
    Do you have a inline gas meter - are you getting consistent gas flow from your gas supply?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    8
    My gas leading into to the roaster is 2 PSI.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    464
    I am unfamiliar with the L series but believe that is what is required by Probat.
    Check your sensor

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    464
    I am unfamiliar with the L series but believe that is what is required by Probat....what about a pressure regulator ?
    Check your sensor

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    8
    The flame sensor?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    464
    I am going to preface this with I am not familiar with the L series but

    yes.......around your burner/pilot you probably have a spark plug and a sensor....They may look similar or different. You should clean them off..........emery paper. Someone more familiar may be able to advise you better as to if the sensor has moved (if it is not just a cleaning that is required).

    But cleaning of the sensor might do wonders

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    8
    Thanks. The sensor may have moved because the sensor/igniter are new. So is the spark plug.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    4
    I used to have the same issue with my Diedrich. I did not have proper airflow in my chimney. Check your chimney and make sure you have a good flow. The smoke from the roast will extinguish the flame. GOOD LUCK!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    8
    How did you check the air flow?

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Ambex YM-5 burners not staying lit...
    By elguapo in forum Coffee Roasters
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-29-2016, 05:57 AM
  2. Wanted: probat l12 or probat 22
    By noye in forum Coffee Roasters
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-02-2015, 12:53 PM
  3. I need a Probat l-12!
    By RonBurgundy in forum Coffee Roasters
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2014, 03:41 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-09-2012, 05:58 AM
  5. I'm looking for a L5 or L12 Probat
    By Douglas in forum Coffee Roasters
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 11:00 PM

Search tags for this page

probat l5

Click on a term to search for related topics.